Skip to content

La Roche-Posay…perfecting old classics?

September 8, 2011

Two newbies popped through my letterbox from La Roche-Posay recently, sold exclusively in pharmacies it can often be forgotten…but offers some really science-y make up.

The first is Respectissime Volumizing Mascara, €17 which claims to be the 1st waterproof mascara for sensitive eyes.

I’ve never been a fan of waterproof mascaras, only very occasionally wearing them poolside on holliers, mainly because I’ve never had a problem with regular mascara running or smudging and I loathe eye make up remover, even the most gentle irritates the crap out of my eyes.  However, I know some people have real difficulty with mascara staying put and are a slave to their cleansing routine…so Respectissime may well be for you.

The brush is quite sparse and holds a lot of product, not great if you don’t like clumping….but like I’ve said before, more clumps more volume! So that part doesn’t bother me.  The consistency is nice and wet, but dries quick…another plus.  Now here comes the science bit, there is a unique ‘iso-pole’ removal system which is an exclusive La Roche-Posay innovation BUT it requires the affinity with the matching LR-P Physiological Eye Make Up Remover, which I don’t have.  So off to work I went with my Simple wipes, which remove my waterproof eyeliner no bother.  No such luck, it wouldn’t budge, so I sought out my waterproof eye make up remover which I only use for cleaning eyeliner brushes since I detest putting the stuff anywhere near my eyes.  Five minutes and about ten cotton discs later it was finally off.

For volume and staying power, this mascara is a winner…but I’ll be steering clear in the future unless I get the iso thingy to go with it.

Next up is Toleraine Teint Compact-Creme Foundation, €20, aimed at dry and sensitive skin.

I tried Sand Beige, 13…it also comes in three other shades which doesn’t seem like enough, although it was pretty much a perfect match.  Claims include a waterproof finish, melt-in coverage and in-depth long-lasting comfort.  My skin is as far from dry as you can get, yet when I applied this with the included sponge it had a bit of a chalky, flaky appearance and seemed to highlight all my pores.  I think you’d get a much more even application with a duo fibre stippling brush.  Good coverage, yes…but ultra-fine natural looking results?  Unfortunately not for me.  It doesn’t give the finish I’ve grown used to, so I couldn’t  manage a two week trial to find out if the claims of smoother and less sensitive skin are true, but added skincare benefits are always a bonus.

Have you tried either of these?  Or do you use anything from the La Roche-Posay line?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 12:47 pm

    Hmmmm prob wouldn’t be interested in the mascara purely on the basis that I would need the buy the “iso thingi”!!!! to go along with it!! Then again My eyes aren’t majorly sensitive.

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Brilliant beauty tips for when you are going for a job interview | Indian Makeup and Beauty Blog | Beauty tips | Eye Makeup | Smokey Eyes | Zuri

Leave a comment