Skip to content

Colour B4 Hair Colour Remover…

May 10, 2011

I actually couldn’t remember what my natural hair colour was, I’ve been dying it “darkest brown” for years and the only indication that this nearly black shade wasn’t my natural colour were the slightly lighter roots.

I read a bit about Scott Cornwall’s Colour B4 product online which claims to be “the safest and most effective way to remove an undesirable hair colour”

How it works:

  • Colour B4 shrinks the artificial dye molecules in the hair, enabling you to simply wash them away.
  • What’s more Colour B4 does not touch your natural hair pigment so you are left with the colour which lay beneath your artificial shade
  • Colour B4 takes you back to your lightest shade.
  • It will return your hair to its natural colour if the artificial hair colour applied is darker than your natural level.
 I found it hard to believe that something that contains no bleach or ammonia would be able to remove years of product build up of such a dark shade.  Apart from one time, I only used “semi permanent” home dyes but I recently found out that most of these are not true semi permanent colours.  They must say ‘level one’ and not have two different bottles that you mix together before applying to your hair to not be permanent.  Anyway, I thought there was nothing to lose as this product seemed safe and has been getting rave reviews.  What’s more is it only cost €13.99 in Boots (€12.99 for the regular version, but I opted for extra strength).

Colour B4 - Extra Strength

I strongly recommend that you read the instructions entirely as they go into a lot of detail about how the product actually works and helps you to understand the importance of the rinsing stage and what to do after.

I applied Colour B4, wrapped my hair in clingfilm and a towel to aid the process and left on for sixty minutes.  Then I rinsed continuously for ten minutes with warm water, applied the buffer part C, left on for one minute then rinsed for a further ten.  I finished by applying the buffer again just as you would with normal shampoo, lathering then rinsing out.  This is a hell of a long time rinsing, but it’s really important you do this stage right.

I had read a lot of reports about how bad this stuff smells, but I honestly didn’t think it was any worse than normal hair dye!

I could immediately see that my hair was lighter, even when wet.  I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to get a brush through it as I hadn’t used any conditioner and I thought that it might be a bit straw-like after all that rinsing but it was no different to normal, perhaps even a little softer.

Here are some before and after pics…

Before - With flash

After - With flash

Before - Without flash

After - Without flash

Not quite sure if these pics really do it justice, my hair is at least three shades lighter…this stuff really works, doesn’t damage your locks, is cheap and foolproof.  Oh and the weirdest part is when you wash it out you don’t actually see any colour go down the drain?!

Have you tired Colour B4? Or had a hair colour disaster you’d like to correct?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    May 10, 2011 4:38 pm

    I used this last week and it made my naturally mid brown hair turn a gingery blonde!!! Luckily I was home colouring it straight away. Do you have any clue why this happened and it didn’t just go from dark brown (similar to yours) back to my natural light to mid brown?

    I still thought it was a good product but wouldn’t have been able to leave the house before colouring it again.

    Oh – and also, I’m shocked that not all semi permanent colours are what they say! What semi permanent would you recommend?

    Love your blog 🙂

    • May 10, 2011 11:02 pm

      Thanks! According to the FAQ it says that this ginger tone that appears is due to the peroxide in the colourants previously used giving a certain amount of “warmth” (orange-red tone) to the hair so what you saw was actually your natural colour as it is now. They recommend using a semi permanent colour with an ash tone to neutralise out the unwanted warmth.
      I can see a bit of ginger in mine too in natural daylight but I think that’s what it was like before I started dying it and I did have it highlighted blonde at one stage too.
      Yeah I couldn’t believe it about the semi permanent colours ….what you want is something labelled ‘temporary’, I really couldn’t recommend a brand because I’ve been going wrong all these years but from now on I’ll be looking out for ‘Level 1’ colours that you don’t need to mix and that don’t contain any ammonia or peroxide. Good luck 🙂

  2. May 10, 2011 8:34 pm

    Great review! Ive been thinking about using this for a while now and you have me convinced. We have similar hair colours and I feel like its just gotten darker and darker lately…

    • May 10, 2011 10:55 pm

      Definitely try it, the way I saw it was if I didn’t like the colour it ended up I could just dye it again anyway. It’s safe to re-dye immediately although they recommend you use a 6-8 wash colour at first.

Leave a Reply

