Skip to content

Searching for a long lasting pencil eyeliner…

April 19, 2011
I’ve been on what seems to be a never ending search for an eyeliner that will simply do what it says and live up to it’s claims.  I *need* an eyeliner that will stay on the waterline longer than ten minutes and preferably not the cream/gel variety as these tend to irritate my eyes and I’d rather do without the hassle of using a brush and cleaning it after each application.  So far I’ve tried Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Zero, Make Up For Ever Aqua Pencil in Mat Black 0L, MUFE Aqua Creamliner Matte Black 1, Inglot Matte Collection AMC Eyeliner Gel in 77, Covergirl Liquiline Blast in Blackfire and the Essence Black Mania Carbon Gloss Eye Pencil.  With the exception of the Essence one, these all claim to be waterproof.  On me, none of them stayed on the waterline.  The Inglot one was about the best but still wore away at the edges and irritated the hell out of my eyes, close second is the MUFE Creamliner but it still wasn’t enough to make me end my search and the pencils? Well, lets not even go there.
So here are two more to add to the list…

Lord & Berry Smudgeproof Waterproof Eyeliner

Shade 0703 Smudgeproof Black brown

To say I was excited to see this brand in Sally Salon Services the other day would be a bit of an understatement.  I’ve been dying to get my hands on this pencil for ages but unable to source it online without having to pay silly shipping charges (ASOS stock a few items, but not the whole range).  Oddly though, they don’t stock this pencil in the black shade (701 In the Black), which I would have thought would be one of their bestsellers.  So after a quick swatch, I decided the black/brown would do, it might even make a nice subtle change to create a softer look.  Disappointed is not the word…look how nice and dark and creamy it looks when drawn on my skin, pretty…..but on the waterline, a different story.  Firstly I had to trace back and forth about ten times to get any amount of colour pay off, which isn’t something I enjoy doing with such a delicate part of the eye and secondly it so isn’t waterproof.  Here’s how it looks on after about an hour’s wear…
…as you can see, pretty pathetic.  This pencil cost around €6 and while I definitely won’t be rocking it on the waterline, it’ll do for a nice regular eyeliner smudged out with a pencil brush for a soft smoky look.
The next one I tried is another I’d been impatiently waiting to get my mitts on, Avon SuperSHOCK Gel Eyeliner Pencil….I wanted the Luxe Lace version in Black, but instead when my order arrived it was a different one entirely (have a feeling they were trying to flog these ones first!).  Mine doesn’t say Luxe Lace and instead of a pure black shade it came in Black Shimmer…

Avon SuperSHOCK Gel Eyeliner Pencil

Shade Black Shimmer

Again, this swatched beautifully.  Creamy, intense and I could even handle the slight shimmer.  Until I tried it on the waterline that was.  Shimmer particles being that close to your eyeball (HATE that word) really isn’t such a good idea, I didn’t like the feel of this one on my eye although it did glide on seamlessly in one stroke.  Here’s what it looks like on…

…it’s definitely there, but not nearly good enough.  The blackness faded way too fast and was super slippy…creeping out towards the corners.  This cost around €9 and again would be fine for a smudged out smoke, but didn’t cut it as a “waterproof” liner.

So the question still remains, if I had the proper black shades in either of these pencils could one of them be a winner?  Hard to tell, but I’m so annoyed with them I don’t think I’ll be parting with any more of my hard earned cash to find out.

Am I missing a completely in your face obvious solution?  What liners have you tried?  Next on my list is the Sumita Beauty Eyeliner which Kim Kardashian’s make up artist @JoyceBonelli replied to me on twitter recommending.  If it’s good enough for Kimmy…..

10 Comments leave one →
  1. EyesAndKisses permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:38 pm

    Love this post! I’m trying to find an eyeliner that stays put in my waterline all day, and was thinking of trying the Urban Decay 24/7, but maybe I won’t after this!
    The best one I’ve tried is the Bobby Brown Gel Eyeliner in Black Ink, but it still doesn’t last ALL day, and it’s hard to get it as dark as I want because it’s a Gel…
    I’m excited to see if you find one that works!

    • April 19, 2011 2:47 pm

      Thanks! I forgot to mention I also tried the Benefit BADgal Waterproof Liner, didn’t work either. The 24/7 is a nice pencil but doesn’t transfer as well on the waterline as it does on the skin. MAC Fluidline is a no go for me too. Might try the Bobbi Brown, but I’d prefer a pencil. Just got a tweet to say the YSL one doesn’t budge!

  2. Kristin Brænne permalink
    April 19, 2011 3:45 pm

    ★★★★★

  3. Lauren permalink
    April 19, 2011 10:08 pm

    Usually I put a small amount of black eye shadow after applying the eye liner so that will soak up the mositure first! It really helps and more can be added to create a more intense look!!

  4. hazel permalink
    May 26, 2011 3:54 pm

    surprised the essence one wasnt great, for a budget brand there black eyeliner is perfect for my waterline. purchasing the ysl black pencil after work as a treat so fingers crossed its a nice luxe version of this with just a bit more staying power

  5. January 3, 2012 4:27 pm

    I’ve fallen in love with a CHEAP pencil from Cover Girl, the Liquiliner, along with their Intense Shadow Blast. They both stay put on my eyes for at least 10 hours, which is a huge record for my oily skin. I’ve spent major dollars on expensive primers, but now use the beige or pink Shadow Blast under every shadow with great results.

    BUT…. the Liquiliner is almost impossible to sharpen, even after 24 hours in the fridge, and you’ll never get a sharp point once the original one is gone. The blobby lead just won’t make it through the sharpener, so I have to sharpen it with a pocket knife like a grandpa. 🙂 This lead should be encased in a mechanical pencil, but I’m putting up with it unless something better comes along because it stays put on my eyes, every single day.

    • January 27, 2012 12:51 am

      I have this one and it still doesn’t last on me ;( have you tried a different sharpener?

  6. January 3, 2012 4:28 pm

    Actually, I meant to say it was impossible to sharpen even after 24 hours in the FREEZER.

  7. May 5, 2013 10:21 pm

    Try Lakme Absolute Kohl which lasts longer on waterline, say min 5-6 hrs. Doesn’t irritate eyes.

  8. Tanya permalink
    December 21, 2014 10:35 am

    Eye of Horus, it’s the one I own and and it doesn’t transfer

Leave a Reply

