Skip to content

Nigel’s Beauty Emporium Haul…

February 27, 2011

It’s no secret that I’m a huge Make Up For Ever fan, they have a serious range of make up in every shade and texture that most other brands can’t match.  The quality and pigment of there products are unbeatable too, but there’s one thing I’m not crazy about…the price!  So when I found out about Nigel’s Beauty Emporium in North Hollywood and realised I’d be in the area, there was nothing that was going to stop me from taking a visit.  Better still…they offer a make up artist discount (just had to show my MAC Pro card).

I know this post isn’t going to be helpful for everyone based on where this shop is situated, but Nigel’s is little known over this way and I’m glad I found out about it so wanted to share it with all of you in case any of my readers live locally or will be visiting LA.

Here’s what I bought…

Not too bad, eh? Had to try put a limit on things…still nearly spent $100 though.

Make Up For Ever products retail at Nigel’s for the same price as sold in Sephora, but they have a bigger range and get this, there’s a whopping 40% MUA discount.  That makes it nearly half the price I’d pay in Ireland even after the 25% discount offered there.  For example the Smoky Lash Mascara (my new favourite) set me back around €9.60, it retails at €22 in MUFE in Dublin which I just can’t part with for a mascara that I’ll need to replace every couple of months.  I’m going to do a separate post on the Aqua Creamliner because I still have to try this out for a bit longer, I’m searching for an eyeliner that will stay on the waterline without running or smudging, yet won’t irritate the eyes.  The jury is still out.  The lashes I bought were $1.49 each and a dead ringer for my faves Ardell as they’re also human hair (the #217s look just like Ardell Wispies, don’t they?).  I’ve wanted a Z Palette for a while, but I’m not a fan of buying some beauty loot online without getting a feel for it first, so I took this opportunity to pick up a small leopard print one to house some of my fave magnetic pans like MAC Blunt Powder Blush and Inglot Brow Powder #569.  It cost $12.56 so a good bit less than the sites I’ve seen that deliver to Ireland.  The Ben Nye Final Seal Spray was only $5.60 for the small bottle and so far I’m loving it, does the same job as all the more expensive versions for a fraction of the price.  I also picked up some essentials like that little sifter jar (for a broken MAC blush that I’ll grind down…waste not want not!) and those tiny little cotton buds which are hard to find and perfect for touch ups and correcting mistakes.

Oops bought this too…

An OCC Lip Tar in Hush.  Another thing I’ve been dying to try but wanted to have a play first because it’s difficult to tell from pictures online how the colours will actually turn out.  I someone managed to limit myself to just the one and will be trialling this a bit more before I give my verdict.  Oh it cost just ten bucks btw!

Loving Nigel’s, can’t wait for their website to be up and running and I’ll definitely be visiting again next time I’m in Cali.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

