Skip to content

Sole Therapy Fish Pedi…

February 13, 2011

An unusual but interesting stocking filler I received at Christmas was a voucher for a Sole Therapy Fish Pedicure.  I’d heard about these from friends who have travelled in Thailand and now we have our very own walk in Spa in Dublin that’s surprisingly cheap too!

I went along with my Mam and Sister to the George’s St Arcade Sole Therapy Spa (no appointment necessary which is handy) where we were greeted by a very helpful assistant who asked us to fill in a short consultation form and supplied nail varnish remover and cotton wool to remove our toe nail varnish (much easier if you just go without and remember no fake tan either).  It’s all very informal and the setting is relaxed and casual…

Two sets of four personal tanks

We were guided to the benches where you can sit in groups of up to four people at a time and given a foot spa each to clean our feet of any product residue that might be on them, then told we could lower our feet into the water and suspend them near the surface.  I went last and watched the reaction from the other two first….I completely thought they were overreacting with the screams, laughs and shrieks they were letting out, but I learned that they really weren’t as soon as I dipped my toes in!!

It’s such a hard feeling to describe.  I thought it would feel really tickly especially on the soles of the feet but I could hardly feel a thing in that area.  You get the sensation that the water is fizzing, a kind of tingling feeling.  The fish don’t have teeth so they can’t bite and it doesn’t hurt, it’s more of a suction action.  You get a bit more used to it as the time goes on, but I can’t say I felt comfortable with them slipping and sliding all over my feet….and worst of all in between my toes (shudder!), so I was glad to finally take them out when the fifteen minutes was up.

Genuine Garra Rufa fish at work

The fish home in on areas of dry skin, especially around the heels and soles of the feet and toe nails.  You’re given a towel to dry your feet off afterwards and some moisturiser.  While rubbing this in I could really feel the benefits of just fifteen minutes with the Garra Rufa fish…my tootsies felt soft and rejuvenated.  If you can stand it any longer I’d say go for the half hour (€30) to really make sure they get every last bit of dry skin.

A quick search on Sole Therapy’s website to find out a little bit more about how hygienic the treatment is ensured everything is squeaky clean, “The water is filtered and also sterilized 5 times an hour using a high powered UV light which kills off bacteria, ensuring the highest standard of hygiene.”

Would I recommend this? Yes. Would I go again? I’d have to be persuaded.


7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tanya permalink
    February 13, 2011 12:13 pm

    Ah I really wanted to do this but wasnt sure if I could put up with that weird feeling!! I might give it a go…:-)

    • February 13, 2011 12:27 pm

      We can all go the weekend you’re over here…SO weird!

  2. trisha permalink
    February 13, 2011 2:24 pm

    there’s no doubt it worked and it’s better than a pedicure for softness but it’s a shame the little fishies don’t paint your toenails…and it’s proper weird!

    • February 13, 2011 2:36 pm

      Haha! Half an hour would be really good but don’t know if I could stand it! Squirm!!

  3. February 13, 2011 3:19 pm

    I’ve had this done a couple of times and you definitely get used to that weird first time feeling! I think its great 🙂

  4. RunningOnRainbows permalink
    March 14, 2011 6:26 pm

    Haha there was a show on Nickelodeon where everyone was getting soft feet from fishies! Yes…I watch Nickelodeon…. :/

    I want to try it!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Sole Therapy Fish Pedi… « Make Up by Nadia -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

