Skip to content

My favourite products for contouring…

January 19, 2011

As requested by @cizzlefish, a contouring fanatic…I’m going to share with you my fave products for contouring, a few for highlighting too and what brushes I use.  Contouring is basically the act of slenderizing your face by adding shading and highlighting to accentuate and exaggerate (or imitate) bone stucture.

I’ve had this first one in my kit for years and have no idea why I stopped using it but it’s back in use now and definitely a favourite…

Make Up For Ever Sculpting Kit

For myself I use Gold – 3 and for paler skin I would recommend Neutral Light – 2.  I tend to mostly use the darker shade of the duo for natural contouring then contrast with the lighter shade if I want a really defined, dramatic look.

Next up is actually a blusher, but it’s the perfect shade for contouring my skin…

MAC Powder Blush in Blunt

For a paler skin, I’d recommend this next one.  MAC do an amazing range of shaping & sculpting powders in their Pro stores for all skin tones…

MAC Pro Palette Sculpting Powder - Bone Beige

You can also use a matte bronzer…

Smashbox Bronze Lights - Sunkissed Matte

Or simply a darker pressed or mineral powder…

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Medium Deep

A really quick and easy way to add both the contour and highlight is this duo product, which even comes with a handy brush that’ll do the job…

Benefit Perfect 10

Speaking about brushes, here are my picks…

Make Up For Ever Fan Brush

…I use the very tip of this brush to shade a line in the hollows of my cheeks from the top of my ear towards the corner of my mouth, then blend with this brush…

MAC 109 Brush

For highlighting I use one of the following…

MAC Cream Color Base Pearl

…the creamy texture will leave a lovely dewy finish on the cheekbones, cupids bow and décolletage.

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish - Soft and Gentle

Benefit Lust Duster - Goldilocks

Am I missing an obvious favourite?  What do you use for contouring?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ciara permalink
    January 19, 2011 12:31 pm

    Thanks contouring goddess. I’m retty intimidated by the fan brush i must say. If you were me would you get the make up forever sculpting kit or the Cream Colour Base pearl along with the Bone Beige. Exciting. I love the look of this Cream Blush in Pearl

    • January 19, 2011 1:02 pm

      I defo think you should go for the pearl cream color, it’d look GORGE on you and you can just apply it with your fingers. Not 100% sure if MAC BT stock the sculpting powders but if they do bone beige would be nice or maybe a shade darker. If not you could try blunt blush! x

  2. ella permalink
    September 1, 2012 4:00 am

    I dont have a sharp nose at all and it almost look like without nose bridge. somehow looks like singer, Rihanna’s nose. can you share tips and if possible, make a video how to contour noses like that?

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My favourite products for contouring… « Make Up by Nadia -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

