Skip to content

Instant Nail Effects…

October 7, 2010

I popped into Boots the other day to pick up a Barry M lippie recommended by a friend (blog post to follow) and whenever I’m at a Barry M stand I always check for new colours in their cult Nail Paint but instead I saw this product on the shelf:

 

Black Magic np311

 

It’s called Instant Nail Effects and at the moment only comes in black….here’s what Barry M says:

“Instant Nail Effects is a simple to use nail paint that creates this amazing effect on your nails in one simple stroke. Or play around with it to create different effects.”

The instructions are simples…1. Paint your nails with your chosen colour and let them dry…and 2. Apply a single coat of Instant Nail Effects, don’t overlap.  Then watch the unique effect appear before your eyes! Or you can watch the video tutorial on their website.

So, I first applied a coat of O.P.I Mod About You…a really pale opaque pastel pink with a hint of lavender.  I reckon the effect probably looks best over light colours since the product is black so I chose this almost chalky pink.  Then, as instructed, I applied a single coat of the Nail Effects and watched as it randomly cracked and shrunk exposing the nail polish underneath.  It wasn’t recommended but I also added a top coat of Seche Vite, but you can skip this step if you prefer a matte look.  Here’s the finished result:

 

I can’t decide if it just looks like a right old mess or is a bit funky? What do you think?

Barry M Instant Nail Effects is priced at €5.95 in Ireland and £3.95 in the UK.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 1:23 pm

    That is so neat! I wish they sold Barry M here in the states

    • October 7, 2010 1:26 pm

      It’s about one of the only good things you can get over here but not there….so many brands I love in the drugstores in the states that I can’t get at home!

  2. October 7, 2010 4:27 pm

    Good timing – I’ve to pop into Boots after work and have been waiting on this to come out for ages! Defo picking it up!!!

    • October 7, 2010 6:20 pm

      Let me know what you think!

  3. October 7, 2010 5:23 pm

    I like it! you can tell its meant to be like that xx

    • October 7, 2010 6:19 pm

      The jury is out!

Leave a Reply

