Skip to content

Nail whitener review…

July 28, 2010

I came across these nail whitening tablets while in Superdrug (one of my fave shops ever!) and thought I’d give them a go.  My nails aren’t as white as I’d like them because I wear a lot of dark nail polish and usually skip the base coat…bad habit I know, but I find it just helps the polish last longer before chipping.  A common complaint I’ve heard though, is stained nails from fake tan application and then of course they could be discoloured from smoking or just age.  They’re inexpensive (under a fiver), quick and easy to use…you just pop one or two in a bowl of warm water and soak for 5-10 minutes.

Here are my before and after photos…

After ten minutes I rinsed well and applied Dermalogica Multivitamin Hand and Nail Treatment moisturiser as they felt a bit dry after soaking.  I definitely noticed a difference and think this would be great to use on fake tan stained toe nails too…it even lightens the cuticle area which is usually a big tell tale sign on tanorexics!

Superdrug is located at The Square, Tallaght and Omni Park, Santry.  If you don’t live near a Superdrug store you could try using a denture-cleaning tablet or make your own recession busting homemade whitening solution with baking soda (which is the main ingredient in these tablets) and lemon juice.

Try it out and let me know how you get on!

One Comment leave one →
  1. ams permalink
    July 28, 2010 12:41 pm

    looks good. The Barbara Daly Uv polish stuff is brilliant for ganky nails too. Must try these tablet things!

Leave a Reply

