Skip to content

Cheap DIY alternative to Minx…

July 28, 2010

If you don’t want to spend the €40+ to have Minx applied but still want that perfect salon-style manicure that claims to last up to two weeks, then Incoco Nail Appliqué might be worth a try.

This is the first time I’ve used these, so at the moment I can only comment on the application and final result…but I will keep you updated on how they are wearing and if they live up to their claims.

I got mine in Penneys but have seen them in loads of different pharmacies and Dunnes for around €6.99.  There are a lot of similarities to Minx such as they come in pre shaped strips and are pressed onto the nails, but unlike Minx you can apply them yourself at home and Incoco is made of 100% polish so is easily removed with the included polish removal cloth or your ordinary nail polish remover and doesn’t require heat.  The obvious downside with these is that there is a much smaller range of colours/designs but they are available in glitter, french tips and pedicure too.

What I liked about these nail strips is how quick and easy they were to apply (around ten minutes), you can even watch a video guide on their website http://incoco.com/ and you get everything you need in the pack…

So, they don’t look perfect, there’s a little air bubble here and a crease there, but you do get a precise line around the cuticle and an even colour.  Here’s how they turned out…

I’m quite skeptical as to how long they’re going to last, because I really can’t imagine they won’t lift while doing the dishes, in the bath etc.  Only time will tell and I’ll keep you posted!

Have you tried these before?  How about Minx, what did you think?

UPDATE:

As promised…here’s an update on the Incoco progress

After three days...

So they’re not wearing too well, they’ve only chipped a bit but there are loads and loads of little cracks and stress lines.  I expected them to lift off at the edges but that hasn’t happened yet and I don’t feel like I’m wearing stickers on my nails anymore, it actually just feels like nail polish now.  I don’t think I’d get another 11 days out of them but I did spend two hours putting together an Ikea flatpack on day one, which can’t have helped.

I’ll probably end up removing them in the next day or two because they’re a bit of a Monet as Cher from Clueless would say, “Seen from far away, it’s okay; but up close, it’s a big ol’ mess.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 6:54 pm

    i love the colour of these! If you got them in Penneys do they sell them in Primark do you think. Def going to give them a try. Thanks Nadz xx

    • July 28, 2010 10:09 pm

      Does your Primark sell cosmetics too? Let me give them a few days to see if they’re any good first I don’t want to recommend anything that isn’t worth it…I’ll keep you posted!

  2. orla o'brien permalink
    October 12, 2010 3:25 pm

    hey, if you have a brush on nail glue, use this on the tips of your nail only put a small bit on and it will stop them from liftin and make them last longer!

    • October 12, 2010 3:31 pm

      thanks for the tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

